Overall Rating3.323.323.323.323.32
Quality3.323.323.323.323.32
Affordability3.263.263.263.263.26
Service3.263.263.263.263.26

19 Customer Reviews of “Durasol Awnings”

Review by Myron Richardson, July 6, 2016

  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111

I purchased a custom Durasol awning in 2006. It was a very expensive cover for our deck. A few months ago we were letting it down and one of the metal bracket that holds the awning to the house cracked. That awning now hangs precariously and dangerously at an angle. I contacted Patio Enclosures in Fishers Indiana where I purchased the awning and they refused to even send people out to repair it. They told me to call a handy man. Needless to say, they will never get any more of my business and I would advise all who read this review to stay away from that company. The Durasol people have not been very helpful either. Moat of the Dealers in the area no longer work with Durasol. So, I am extremely disappointed with Durasol and their dealer network. This should not be happening.

Review by Sandy shuster, March 7, 2015

  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 33333
  • 11111

I would not recommend Durasol awnings! We have had a Durasol awning for 5 years. The awning has a 10 year warranty. The casted metal bracket that holds the awning arm to the frame on the house broke. The arms retracted appropriately but because the bracket broke one of the arms fell to the ground. I contacted debra Plock, the Vice President of service at ke Durasol to discuss a warranty repair. I was not able to contact any dealers in Atlanta because they had either gone out of business in the last five years or did not handle Durasol anymore. At first debra was cooperative asking for pictures and purchase information, which was provided. But then she basically stopped responding. She even hung up on me when I gave her my name. I have numerous emails where she tells me she is researching the issue however, I believe when I was able to provide all of the information she needed to justify a warranty replace she decided to use a different approach and just stop responding. I fond a local distributor in Atlanta who told me they are no longer installing NEW Durasol awnings because of the lack of support from Durasol but he was willing to repair my awning, of course at my cost. The repair included total replacement of both arms at about 00. I am now going to sue KE Durasol for lack of warranty. I have had an engineering company analyze the broken casing and they agree that it is a manufacturing defect. My new awning arms have a completely redesigned bracket that further substantiates the original defected bracket.

Review by Durasol Fan, September 24, 2014

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

Durasol Awnings, based in Chester NY.

Review by Robert Mondovi, June 27, 2014

  • 22222
  • 22222
  • 22222
  • 22222

Yes

Review by L. Locke, July 26, 2013

  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 33333
  • 11111

Horrible product! We had it a few months when pieces of metal started falling off. Then it was dropping to one side. We called Rainier Awning who sold it to us. They “tightened” it or something. It was slightly better. Then it made clunking noises and started ripping the seam of the fabric. Called Rainier. They “fixed it”. We have a drop down shade and it slide out of its pocket. Called again. They fixed it. Then recently we had a big gust of wind and it broke one of the arms. After many, many, calls and promises, someone came out and said that it looked like the frame had been bent for a long time and that was why it was making noises and “eating” the awning material. We were promised an estimate to fix it or replace. We were told we’d have an estimate in a week. It took calls to finally get the estimate. We have turned it over to our insurance.

Do Not buy this product!!! It supposedly has a 12 yr guarantee, but no one is taking responsibility.

Review by JONI WILSON, July 11, 2013

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 44444
  • 55555

We purchased a custom Durasol motorized retractable awning in 1999 for our shadeless deck. It has been wonderful. It hslps keep the house cooler and the deck more usable. The only time it does not work is with high winds. After 14 years the fabric has faded & worn some but still looks good. I would definitely recommend this product to anyone. Unfortunately, it was left out a few days ago overnight & we had a surprise storm and the fabric held the water well. The weight of the water bent & broke one of the arms. Our rep has been quick to help with plans for repair or replacement.

Review by LORRAINE DAVIE, May 21, 2013

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 33333
  • 11111

I have a Dorosol awning which I can only say great things about The best money I ever spent BUT don’t ever have to deal with their customer service. I have been trying to get replacement parts for weeks only to find out they were just ordered today. After the installation and payment in full they will decide if they are going to honor their warranty I just love it.

Review by Mike Smith, February 20, 2013

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

I have had my motorized Durasol Elite awning for 6 years and it works great! We had the awning installed by Northeast Awning & Window Decor, the price was fair and the installation was on time and well done.

Review by Robert Lenhart, September 18, 2012

  • 22222
  • 11111
  • 33333
  • 44444

I not happy. It is 22’10” long and has a 4″ space seperating the fabric of the awning.It also has 3 arms. The middle arm has caught the fabric at this opening and ripped it. I believe it was a design flaw but the installer states that all awnings this long are designed the same way.
Has anuone else had a simalar problem?

Review by Jennifer Siller, May 2, 2012

  • 11111
  • 22222
  • 11111
  • 11111

This company refuses to install an awning of theirs I picked up second hand. Since they can’t make money at it, they don’t want to help. Watch yourselfs. THEY WILL NOT SERVICE THIS PRODUCT!!! STAY AWAY FROM THEM!!!

Review by kathy B, February 11, 2012

  • 33333
  • 33333
  • 33333
  • 55555

Had a Durasol awning 20×14, for 7 years. It was a good looking awning for our deck and provided great shade. We don’t think that it was very strong though. The awning needed to be adjusted several times and then a couple of arm parts started to crack. We don’t live in a windy area and the awning is protected, so not quite sure what the issue was. My husband and I decided that was enough. We use our deck constantly in the spring/summer/fall and need a strong awning. We ended up replacing with a deck awning from Eclipse – seems to be much stronger and about the same price.

I must say that the dealer offered us excellent service while we had the Durasol. I think they were a little frustrated because it seemed as though every time they needed a part, the company changed something. The dealer said that the company had changed hands and parts were not made in the US anymore, maybe that’s why.

Review by Jerry Jones, January 9, 2012

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

Purchased Durasol retractable awning in 2003 and it was a great product with no problems. Worked extremely well mechanically. The fabric is now detiorating and needs to be replaced. Could not have purchased anything more satisfactory. My only question as I replace the fabric will be if the motor etc will continue to work as efficiently as it has in the past or should it also be replaced.. I have seen no rust or paint chipping.

Review by Steve Smith, October 29, 2011

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

I also researched most of the awnings rated on this page and found the Durasol products superior in construction and warranty. The Durasol company has been around for 25 years. I was impressed by the fact that its manufactured in the U.S. unlike many other awnings! We had Northeast Awnings install our awning and we are thrilled with the quality of the product and the dealer!

Review by Joan D, August 12, 2011

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

I don’t think anything made mechanically will ever be perfect, but the service one gets while purchasing certainly can. I had a terrible experience with David Will of Professional Awning & Cover Care who took our money and never delivered our order. On the other hand, Vince Best at Durasol more than remedied the situation. As soon as I got in touch with him, he put us in touch with Greg Sahagian of GS&S in Hartsdale who came out and installed the awning. They both bent over backwards to finish the job in a very professional way and I am very pleased with the end result.

We have just had a Durasol awning

Review by Janet Murphy Brosnan, July 29, 2011

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 33333
  • 11111

Purchased my Durasol retractable awning six years ago from Awningstar in Massapequa, NY. Price was right, concept was right – one of the best investments I ever made. Never a problem with the product because I properly take care of my home and “stuff”. Living by the beach it gets breezy, but still never a problem. Now I need an adjustment to, perhaps, the arm pitch on one side, as the fabric droops a little when the awning is extended. Awningstar went out of business and, therefore, I cannot have them come to honor the ten-year warranty. I called Durasol in Middletown, NY directly, and they referred me to two other Durasol vendors (Mineola Signs and Summer Breeze), both of whom I contacted. Mineola wants $250 just to come and take a look at the awning; Summer Breeze keeps yanking my chain, saying they’ll come and look, but to date, no show – – and its been three weeks. I called Durasol and they’re of absolutely no help, as if YOU BOUGHT IT, YOUR DEALER IS OUT OF BUSINESS, THAT’S TOUGH!

I have referred Durasol awnings to friends, family and neighbors in the past; I own three homes which could use awnings however, since the service stinks and none of their vendors want to honor their warranties, I won’t be using Durasol products again and will never refer them to anyone again – – unless, however, someone from Durasol sees this review and reaches out to me to have someone do this very simple adjustment for me.

Review by Phillip Thomas, May 23, 2011

  • 33333
  • 22222
  • 33333
  • 33333

I have had 3 awnings on various houses that I have owned over the years. 1 had a Durasol, 1 had one from Retractableawnings.com and one was from a local dealer and I don’t know who the manufacturer was. I think it wass maybe Eclipse. The Durasol awning frame did not last too long. We had a big wind one day and it completely bent it. It seemed very easy to bend. The RetractableAwning.com awning was not very good at all and the 3rd one, from the local dealer, seemed to be the most durable.

Review by Chris Murphy, May 23, 2011

  • 33333
  • 44444
  • 33333
  • 44444

We had a Durasol awning put in several years ago. The fabric held up well, but the mechanism was never quite right. It would stick and jam periodically and was a pain to deal with. I don’t think our installation crew did a good job. They did come out to fix it but it didn’t help much. After several years, we had a home addition built and decided not to reuse the awning.

Review by John B, April 29, 2011

  • 33333
  • 22222
  • 22222
  • 55555

We live on the Jersey Shore…not where the show is filmed thank God! The awning performed well but most of the nuts and bolts rusted and a lot of the paint came off the frame. The dealer was very helpful and performed an excellent installation. I think I should have shopped a little more for the product. But other than appearing ugly – it performs well.

Review by Nora V., February 2, 2011

  • 33333
  • 44444
  • 33333
  • 33333

Durasol awnings appear to be one of the leaders in motorized and manually retractable awnings. We did read in online forums that the motorized retractable awnings are nice (particularly with remote control), but they do have an inclination to be repair prone and need fixing fairly frequently. No brand stood out in terms of reliability issues, as they all took some complaints from customers. Many say motorized or electric awnings are “finicky” and aren’t 100% foolproof.

Write a Review of Durasol Awnings

Overall Rating
Quality
Affordability
Service

Please type the characters of this captcha image in the input box

Please type the characters of this captcha image in the input box