Overall Rating3.453.453.453.453.45
Quality3.183.183.183.183.18
Affordability3.553.553.553.553.55
Service3.273.273.273.273.27

11 Customer Reviews of “Alutex”

Review by Maria S, July 28, 2015

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

My family recently got a retractable awning from the place in town that does signs and awnings. They told me Alutex is a good manufacturer so I ended up getting their Madera model. The color matched our house pretty well and the neighbors have commented on how nice it looks. We use it pretty often whenever we BBQ or sit outside so I’m happy we got it. I thought I’d write a review because I have to admit I’m spending a lot more time outside now.

Review by Laura R, April 3, 2015

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

Hi, just thought I’d write a review because I see so many negative reviews and wondering if these reviewers are mixing up Alutex Awnings with Altech Awnings which is what I recently did. I currently have an Alutex awning which my husband received as a gift from his dad in 2002. The awning is excellent! We never had a problem with it. Currently we are getting a new sunbrella awning fabric made for this awning by a local canvas maker because this past winter we left the awning open and had too much snow and the seams ripped. Meanwhile I wanted to get new plastic end caps and a new retractable roller mechanism not because the mechanism is broke but I would rather have new parts with a new fabric. I originally mixed up with Altech who are not helpful at all in matching up parts, then I took the end cap off the awning and realized it is ALUTEX and I called the number on the website and Ewa was very helpful and asked for pictures to her email and the next day she had the parts for me and I paid her with a credit card and I should be receiving the parts today in the mail. This is one of the best customer service experiences I have ever had in obtaining parts for a 13 year old item! The frame and arms, etc…. are still in excellent condition and if not for the snow ripping the awning it would still be in excellent condition. Hope this helps people that are maybe mixing up the manufacturer names. Thanks Ewa and ALUTEX for such a pleasant experience.

Review by Ronald, December 17, 2014

  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111

This company ALUTEX puts out the lowest quality products. They are assemble by what appears to be undocumented workers and the product shows, the arms are glued together the cuts are uneven they touch up the edges with paint to hide the poor quality. When you call for help they put you on the phone with a guy who says his name is John then it turns out it the owner (same voice ) my awning looked as if it was painted over another color (brown). I went right to the factory to buy direct as I live nearby very charming man sold it to me paid cash at his suggestion in exchange for a discount. When I had a problem his true colors showed, very nasty. The arms broke inside first the left then the right (finally replaced) a year later. I can understand one problem but how does the paint fall off and show brown underneath. Stay Away from this company all these people can not be making this stuff up. Sad that this kind of stuff still happens to consumers.

Review by Alutex, March 7, 2014

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

Dear Albert Pauer,You have posted a review that accidentally seems related to our products while you actually refer to some Chinese production. Do you mind to remove it or place it where is supposed to be as it is no pertinent to any of our products and this company has no relation neither with you or China at all? Of course, if on the contrary your goal is slandering and misleading please feel free to leave your message where it is, we will still be able to count on the readers\’ intelligence. Thank you for your cooperation,Alutex Inc.

Review by Albert Pauer, April 5, 2013

  • 22222
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111

All this Awnings are made in China, no parts available in the US, if they break you have to buy a new one.
However, you can buy them directly from CHINA for as little as one hundred dollars.
But they sale in the US for up to $2,000.00 each.
http://www.alibaba.com/product-gs/502977787/Economic_Awning_1300.html

Review by Mauro Posani, February 24, 2012

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 44444
  • 55555

Dear Readers

I can only express my sincere interest in resolving any and all customer issues. I have and continue to invite Harold G., his sons, or anyone he so designates, to call me directly at any time. At this moment, I am unaware of any attempts to be contacted, pursuant to the comments described above. I would hope that he will accept my repeated invitation to contact me, and when doing so, please feel free to identify himself, as “Harold G.”, so that I can address him personally. I treat any and all issues related to Alutex, Inc. with the utmost commitment to satisfy our customers.

That being said, I hope to inform the intelligent readers of this website, that the influence of the internet, in this day and age, can be very powerful, both positiely and negatively. I wish to express my concern however, that in the absence of true identification, and confirmation of such postings, this powerful tool (the internet) also permits unsubstantiated claims to be made by anyone, possessing a keyboard. As we all are clearly aware, the internet allows for anyone and everyone to suggest opinions and even make claims against others, for anything their mood of the moment, may desire. Considering the economic struggles that others in the industry are trying to overcome, it would not be surprising that some would reduce themselves to a level of manufacturing such fabrications, even at the risk of liable, slander, defamation and other prosecutable risks.

As I reflect upon the many thousands of Retractable Awnings that my company has manufactured and delivered, exclusively through our network of professional dealers, and consider that only this and one other, as yet unsustantiated claim, has ever been posted to this site, I am left to wonder of the validity and truthfulness behind the kestrokes of such authors. While I continue to invite any of my valued customers to contact me directly, either by phone (800) 377-2564, or via e-mail at: alutex@alutex.com, I cannot help but to assure the intelligent readers of this blog, that the level of ethics and integrity which my company has been built, over these past twenty-two (22) years, will never be compromised by unfounded remarks, from unidentifiable authors.

With pride, I express my sincere appreciation for all of Alutex’s professional dealers, and invite anyone considering the purchase of a retractable awning, to call us at: (800) 377-2564, or visit our website at: http://www.alutex.com, to find a dealer near you. I compliment the readers of this blog, for their wisdom in understanding the difference between postings and reality, and encourage everyone to perform their own due-diligence when making a purchase for their home. We look forward to serving all of your retractable awning needs.

Thank You,

Mauro Posani, President
Alutex, Inc.

Review by Jason Shaw, February 22, 2012

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

Hi,

I am the owner of an awning distributor and I happened to come across these reviews. We’ve been selling Alutex awnings along with 4 other awning brands for many years. Not only have we sold hundreds of Alutex awnings, but also hundreds from other quality brands so we have a very good perspective on the quality and service provided by Alutex.

All I can say is that we’ve had very few problems with Alutex, and whenever we do have a problem, Alutex is there to rectify any situation quickly and professionally. They care a great deal about customer satisfaction and the quality of their awnings. If they didn’t we wouldn’t sell them.

I also want to call into question the authenticity of the two poor reviews listed here. (note: If they are authentic then I apologize – I’m just pointing out some things that look quite suspect.)

The link attached to the first reviewer’s name James W is http://www.tripdub.awnings.com/ which would suggest that it could have been posted by someone at awnings.com. And when you consider this line: “The latest style simply has a shallow retainer cup for the bolt head and is grossly under designed.” It seems very unlikely that a consumer posted this review.

The second reviewer, Harold G. is also suspect. He has two different reviews for apparently two different awnings with different problems, posted within 3 months of each other. The first one is about a bad motor and the second one is about a faulty tri-arm awning that won’t close.

Regards,
-Jason

Review by Harold G., January 28, 2012

  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111

This is the worst awning we have ever owned the quality looks like it was made in a garage. When I had a problem with my Tri arm awning I called and spoke to a man named John who later turned out to be the owner Mauro Possoni. This man had the gall to tell me I was closing my awning wrong if you can believe that I was closing it when it was breezy as directed by the install guy. Do yourself a favor and never buy anything from this company. My neighbor bought one from the same Alutex seller they had their awning start to peel you could clearly see brown under the white like it was spray painted they gave him new arms after three calls but he had to pay $200 to have them installed. We live in NJ and are retired we paid for quality and got crap. My other neighbor across the way has had his awning for 7 years no problems at all I am not sure of the brand “Sun” something but is not from this alutex he paid much less then we did from the web. To see this jerk from alutex write about quality and excellence makes me mad. Actions speak louder then words stop hiding behind fake names when customers call you John or Mario or whatever an honest man does not hide.

Review by Mauro Posani, October 20, 2011

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

Hi,
I am the president of Alutex Inc. and found by chance the two messages listed on this site under my company name. First of all I like to thank whoever publishes this site for the excellent service it provides to all of us manufacturers: without knowing our limitations we could never improve. Nevertheless I would like to address the two gentlemen that posted their messages and invite them to contact me directly at our toll free number 1(800) 377-2564. I can assure them that no one at my company has ever received any call or message referred to their needs. Because we always strive to provide excellent products by providing also excellent service, it will be my personal agenda to address their concerns. Please feel free to publish this as an open invitation to any customer that may feel he has an issue and as a demonstration of the effectiveness of your site.
Sincerely,
Mauro Posani
President

Review by Harold G., May 23, 2011

  • 22222
  • 11111
  • 33333
  • 11111

I bought an Alutex awning several years ago, with the optional motor. After about two years, the motor portion totally quit. I have been trying to get the motor replaced ever since, but all I receive from Alutex are e-mails with troubleshooting procedures. I am now close to 70 years old, and rely on my sons when they visit to help with the troubleshooting. Finally after years of telling them that the motor was bad, they agree – and tell me that I waited too long.

Review by James W., April 22, 2011

  • 22222
  • 11111
  • 44444
  • 22222

I had an earlier set of awnings from Alutex that held up and performed well. However, the new versions are rubbish. I have gone through two sets and need another due to the knobs stripping with the needed torque to hold my awning. The latest style simply has a shallow retainer cup for the bolt head and is grossly under designed. I emailed Alutex and received no reply. Clearly they are not a customer oriented company. Big hassle and lack of customer service is very disappointing.

Write a Review of Alutex

Overall Rating
Quality
Affordability
Service

Please type the characters of this captcha image in the input box

Please type the characters of this captcha image in the input box