Overall Rating33333
Quality2.632.632.632.632.63
Affordability3.253.253.253.253.25
Service2.632.632.632.632.63

Shadetree

8 Customer Reviews of “Shadetree”

Review by Thom T., May 10, 2011

  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111

We put our awning in a no wind situation just to see how they worked, both broke instantly. Made of cheap plastic. I would not recommend this product.

Review by James Reynolds, May 23, 2011

  • 22222
  • 11111
  • 22222
  • 22222

The cloth part is fine and provides great shade, but the mechanism that retracts the shade in and out has never worked as it should. It has been in place for nearly four years now, and it is a huge pain. Despite numerous “repairs” the mechanism does not function correctly. It jams and sometimes the automatic cut-off does not work, so the motor keeps going when the shade cloth has fully retracted. This places a strain on the cloth and the mechanism. Sometimes the apparatus does not wind the cloth in evenly, so you end up with some of the cloth hanging out on one end. If I were to get another awning, I would do a lot more research before deciding to go with this company again.

Review by Ray Basri, December 5, 2011

  • 44444
  • 44444
  • 44444
  • 11111

We ordered a Shadetree awning over the internet to safe money rather than using a local source. The product arrived fine and had good built quality. The problem we experienced had less to do with the product and more to do with the existing pergola being way out of square and cross beams that interfered with the installation. All said and done we got it to work and the product does work fine but it took me and a friend 2 days to make it right. I should have tore down the pergola and went with a regular retractable awning.

Review by Connie Helgoth, January 16, 2012

  • 22222
  • 22222
  • 44444
  • 22222

We have had this system for several years and it does not work well in our Colorado sunshine. The “plastic” pieces that hold the fabric down shrinks and swells and eventually is no longer long enough to reach under the clamps on the end. We have had to replace them every couple of years or so which is a major project in itself. I like the concept and the fabric held up well but they need to improve the “plastic” parts for our climate.

Review by Nate Willard, March 19, 2012

  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 22222
  • 22222

We own the Capri model. It is not a good product. The posts are the same as the tracks. It has no structural integrity. We should have built a wood structure to support the canopies.

Review by Carl Nunnari, June 24, 2013

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

Provided Shadetree the dimensions for the unit I wanted (cover a two car driveway) in 2003 and installed it myself. Only replaced all the fabric with rollers once (lasts about five years in the blistering Hawaii sun). Still doing the job I wanted it to do. Provide shade and protect my vehicles paint.

Review by T. Kadien, October 12, 2013

  • 44444
  • 44444
  • 55555
  • 33333

We have our Capri system in Southern CA for about 5 years now. It gets full sun. The material has held up quite well. The aluminum posts look like new. The only complaint is the top lock bracket developed black spots and didn’t hold the awing in place. Order new ones and about 20 minutes I fixed it myself. It was very easy.
If I had to do it over again, I would order it again!

Review by D. Wilson, March 2, 2014

  • 55555
  • 33333
  • 33333
  • 55555

I have used the Capri for six or seven years. Its versatility is wonderful (easy to open/close), it handles high winds with ease and the shade keeps the house cool and the west facing deck usable in hot temps.The plastic pieces degrade over time and require periodic replacement. Putting the canopy up each year requires a tiny allen wrench to secure the top bracket. There must be a better way to do this. Overall it was a bit expensive but we have been very pleased with the results.

Write a Review of Shadetree

Overall Rating
Quality
Affordability
Service

Please type the characters of this captcha image in the input box

Please type the characters of this captcha image in the input box