Overall Rating4.854.854.854.854.85
Quality4.694.694.694.694.69
Affordability4.384.384.384.384.38
Service4.854.854.854.854.85

13 Customer Reviews of “DIY Retractable Awning”

Review by Susan, March 15, 2016

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

Where do I begin. I was faced with a broken piece that holds the arm to retract the awning. Did a lot of searching until I stumbled upon DIY Retractable Awning. I contacted them with a picture of what I needed. Larry B contacted me immediately. We went back and forth several times with in a few hours. He provided me with the part number and I ordered it immediately. I cant tell you how relieved I was, as Larry explained the replacement in such detail. I received the part today. Installed it within minutes. I\\’m so grateful to Larry.. For his amazing patience and knowledge. Thank you Larry for the best Customer Support I have ever experienced!

Review by Roger, January 28, 2014

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

I purchased a 18 x 10 5000 awning and installed it myself with the help of two friends. I’m a handy guy and this was not that difficult, once you find the studs its downhill from there. The quality is outstanding and the product was shipped and delivered as promised! Kudos DIY, we love our awning 🙂

Review by Andy Schaubert, August 12, 2013

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

I have never written about a product before and your going to be the first. I purchased a 21′ long and 13′ wide 5000 awning. My trade is a millwright and machinist. Now a mgr. at a transload facility in Winnemucca NV. I just wanted to say that your net extrusions and hardware are of great quality and a pleasure to assy.. I roof mounted this unit to a roof that upon starting to install had a bow in it. To the hardware we go for some extra long lags. All went well after that, installed the unit and hit the remote, awesome. Now were going to have christening party.
am so glad I read reviews, they say #1 in sales they should finish the rest of the statement.

Thank you for a quality product! Andy

Review by W. McCollum, June 15, 2013

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

After spending months researching retractable awnings,I decided to save installation costs and tackle the job myself. DIY awnings seemed to be the best quality and value I found. After a brief telephone conversation with the knowledgeable and friendly staff at DIY, I placed the order for a 21ft.11in. awning. I couldn’t be more pleased. The awning arrived when promised, was packaged professionally, and installed within 3hrs. The only problem was finding the framing studs. The awning worked perfectly out of the box. Excellent product & service.

Review by J. Hamm, May 31, 2013

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 44444
  • 55555

Have a 16′ awning in service for a month. No complaints. Arrived promptly. Well packaged. No damage or missing items. A really rare experience with recent purchases. Instructions could be clearer and more elaborate. Cust svc says they’re doing a video. Text refers to terms such as “torque arm shoulder” without diagraming or explaining what that is. Instructions also caution “Do not hang plants or small children from awning.” Quality seems good. Stainless hardware and heavy gauge metal. Had a tech question about mounting problem and it was promptly answered by phone. Unit is very heavy and would be difficult for 2 novices to lift awning into brackets. I rigged a hoist with 2×4’s, a winch and pulley and suggest something similar. Electric motor and remotej work fine and needed no adjustment of extension limits. Awning is a great addition to the deck when yhe sun beats down and keeps the house considerably cooler.

Review by Betty R., July 31, 2012

  • 55555
  • 44444
  • 33333
  • 55555

I ordered a 22′ Series 5000 awning from DIY Retractable awnings and it is awesome. I researched several companies and finally went with DIY. The customer service was great. The agent even emailed me a picture of the fabric, braiding and metal colors that I chose all in a group so I could see how it all went together. I received the awning about 1 1/2 weeks after ordering it. My husband is very handy so installation was easy. We had one part that was broken in shipping but DIY were very accommodating and sent me a replacement part the next day. I always read recommendations when researching a product so I wanted to give feedback. It was a great experience and the quality of the awning is awesome.

Review by Jeremy Hayes, July 23, 2012

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 44444
  • 55555

I have been doing my research on these awnings for about three months. I am pretty handy around the house so I thought I would take it on myself. I have found that DIY awning has a superior product than most. They do cost a little more than the others but I am willing to pay for quality. I spoke with Larry about fabric samples and he was very helpful. Sent me all the samples I requested and more. Wound up picking a sample that he suggested over one that I requested. Shipment was easy, ontime and customer friendly. I ordered a 23′ awning. I underestimated the weight (300lbs), so it made figuring out how to get it off the truck interesting, but it was actually pretty smooth. Installation was not bad, only thing that stopped me was me feeling unsure about were the studs were. Once we found that, it was pretty easy to install (I used the roof mount.) Took three strong guys to get it up the ladder. Total install time was four hours. Now that it is installed we love it.

Review by Al Geiger, March 25, 2012

  • 55555
  • 44444
  • 44444
  • 55555

I searched high and low for the replacement roof mount brackets that I needed for my patio awning. I finally found a universal bracket at DIY Retractable Awnings. I called to make sure that it would work with my existing awning, and the representative was very knowledgeable and helpful. I have repaired the awning and am ready for the Summer. I saved a lot of money, by repairing instead of replacing. Thanks DIY!

Review by Tim Westley, January 1, 2012

  • 44444
  • 44444
  • 55555
  • 44444

We bought a new home and after moving in realized the retractable awning fabric was torn. So I did an online search and found DIYretractableawnings.com. They had a large selection of replacement fabric at a great price. We decided to change the color and pattern scheme, and ordered direct from DIY. It was great; we only had to buy the amount of fabric we needed, and it was delivered in a just a few days. Would definitely shop here again. Easy transaction, quality product, and quick delivery.

Review by John, November 18, 2011

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

After thoroughly researching all my options both locally and online, I purchased a model 30 foot wide x 13 foot projection from DiyRetractableawnings.com. I have since bought several other retractable awnings for my home and can’t say enough good things about DIYRetractableawnings.com

Without question the highest quality (10 year frame warranty)and most user friendly retractable awnings I have ever owned. I owned 4 when I lived in Europe so I know my retractables. Speak with Eric at DIYRetractableawnings.com as he has been most helpful with each purchase and always asks the “right” questions to be sure I am completely satisfied. Truly a 5 star company

Review by Valerie M., May 23, 2011

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 44444

I’ve had my retractable awning from DIY Retractable Awnings for a couple of months ago and love it. My house has a deck that faces southwest and would bake in summer. The air conditioning had a hard time keeping up. I put the retractable over the deck and the interior of the house was much cooler. It’s usually not that breezy here in the summer, so wind hasn’t been a problem. It looks great, too, and gives the house a summery, vacation house appeal. Definitely go with DIY – great products and easy to install. Being as they are a national company that doesn’t do installations, I was able to save on the awning and get my husband to put it in with his friends.

Review by Tyrone Smith, May 1, 2011

  • 55555
  • 44444
  • 44444
  • 55555

The service was unparalleled. They were very on top of things concerning processing the order quickly and asking relevant questions. It remains to tell whether the material is the quality of the items it replaced. The original cover that came with it lasted ten years. This material looks quite different so I hope it lasts as long.

Review by Barbara P., March 30, 2011

  • 44444
  • 55555
  • 33333
  • 55555

My husband is a do-it-yourselfer, and when it came time to buy an awning for our back deck, he chose to buy one online rather than go to a local dealer who can do an installation. So I shopped around, and asked my friends who all have awnings (one on every back porch on my block) and they recommended I either go to TaylorMadeAwning.com or DIYRetractableAwning.com. I shopped both sites, and although Taylor Made was a little cheaper, my online research showed that the quality of the frame was better with DIYRetractableAwning.com. We were very pleased with the service at DIY and they were very helpful when it came time to get advice on installation. It is clearly a high quality product.

Write a Review of DIY Retractable Awning

Overall Rating
Quality
Affordability
Service

Please type the characters of this captcha image in the input box

Please type the characters of this captcha image in the input box