Overall Rating4.54.54.54.54.5
Quality4.334.334.334.334.33
Affordability44444
Service4.174.174.174.174.17

6 Customer Reviews of “Eastern”

Review by Matthew, July 28, 2013

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 44444
  • 55555

I am a homeowner in Westchester county New York with a 15 x 12 Easter shade awning on my deck. I had installed about 9 years ago and couldn’t be happier. The installer showed up on time and did a great job. It was mounted on the edge of my roof and when we put a new roof on the roofer commented on how well it was mounted. I am careful not to leave it open when rain or high wind is possible. I do use it during light rain though. If you need heavy rain protection, build an enclosed porch. The remote controlled motor has worked flawlessly and quietly. I wipe off the metallic frame and arms once or twice a year to keep it looking great. The fabrics has one or two pin holes from insects, but is not in need of replacement yet.

Review by Sandy Price, January 31, 2013

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

In Response to Ken above who owns a Hooters Restaurant. It sounds like a small adjustment that your awning needs.

Most Sunflexx Dealers will always service their products, but if you called a dealer that does not sell Sunflexx they probably wont help you.

I would recommend you call Eastern directly and they will make sure your problem gets fixed.

Eastern Awnings- 800-445-4142

Review by Sandy Price, January 31, 2013

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

I am also an Eastern Awning Dealer. I agree with Peter. We have been selling the Sunflexx Awnings since 1990. We have never had to repair or replace any parts on the Sunflexx Awnings we have sold over the years.

We do get a lot of calls on replacing arms, gears and even new hand cranks on all the awnings above (except for Eclipse). We no longer service any of the other brands. Its to difficult to work with inferior parts and frames.

I have tried selling other brands of retractable awnings before to compete with pricing. After a couple of call backs to fix something on the awning, it was just not worth selling a less expensive brand.

When our customers are shopping for price, I always tell them to check the warranty on the frame which is the best sign to judge the quality. Eastern has one of the best warranties in the industry and paying a little more upfront is much less expensive than repairing or replacing a cheaply made awning after only a few years of use.

Review by Peter Lundin, November 4, 2012

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

Yes, I am biased! I am a dealer on the coast in Niantic CT. (Not fair for me to rate.)

Have been installing Eastern brand of Lateral arm Awnings for 23 years, approximately 50 per year. Have had one arm fail, “My demo” 23″ X 13′ after 15 years, with the customer under this three arm awning. Perhaps I had demonstrated the flex arm to often, 3′ +-. The gentleman and lady still bought an Eastern Sunflex from me.

Yes, I am biased to the Sunflex brand, I am a dealer. But I have replaced arms on practically all the above rated systems. The Eastern Sunflex just doesn’t brake! Hopefully I will get to Hooters in Arizona in the next few months to see the installation. This is a dealer problem not an Eastern Problem.

Go to an awning convention and ask all dealers about brands and who do they compare there awnings to? Eastern Sunflex! The only advantage they have is price. Eastern is not a cheep system, just the best. Have 5 on my house since 1986, not one problem.

Review by Jim, February 6, 2012

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 44444
  • 44444

The patio on our shore house desperately needed some shading. As we researched prospective brands, three different awning companies all recommended EASTERN AWNINGS for several reasons. First up is that it is AMERICAN MADE (not just ‘assembled in America’ like the majority of their competitors), the build quality is the best in the industry, and it has the best warranty in the business (15 year against arm breakage – no one else offers this type of warranty).
As a structural engineer, the ‘ENGINEERED WIND LOADS’ just provides me with even more confidence. We loved our first awning so much, we bought a second the following spring!
Don’t be fooled, spend the $ now and get an Eastern that will literally last a lifetime!

Review by Ken M., January 17, 2012

  • 22222
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111

I manage a Hooters in Peoria Arizona, we have Eastern Awnings on our Resturant, come look at them the fabric is so droopy apparently the arms don’t have adequate “spring tension”. And no one seems to want to fix it!!! Good thing the customers dont come here to look at the awnings!!!

Write a Review of Eastern

Overall Rating
Quality
Affordability
Service

Please type the characters of this captcha image in the input box

Please type the characters of this captcha image in the input box